

# **MINUTES**

**Inaugural Council Meeting** 

25 October 2016

# MINUTES OF MACKENZIE DISTRICT COUNCIL INAUGURAL COUNCIL MEETING HELD AT THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, FAIRLIE ON TUESDAY, 25 OCTOBER 2016 AT 6PM

PRESENT: Cr Graham Smith (Mayor), Cr James Leslie (Councillor), Cr Russell Armstrong

(Councillor), Cr Anne Munro (Councillor), Cr Stuart Barwood (Councillor), Cr

Chris Clarke (Councillor), Cr Paul Hannagan (Councillor)

IN ATTENDANCE: Wayne Barnett (Chief Executive Officer), Paul Morris (Chief Financial Officer),

Bernie Haar (Asset Manager), Toni Morrison (Projects and Administration Manager), Garth Nixon (Community Facilities Manager), Nathan Hole (Planning and Regulation Manager), Keri-Ann Little (Committee

Administration)

#### 1 OPENING

The Chief Executive Officer welcomed everyone to the Inaugural meeting of the Mackenzie District Council.

#### 2 APOLOGIES

#### **APOLOGY**

# **RESOLUTION 2016/5**

Moved: Cr Graham Smith Seconded: Cr Russell Armstrong

That the apology received from Stella Sweney, Jacqui de Buyzer and Norman Geary be accepted.

**CARRIED** 

#### 3 REPORTS

# 8.1 DECLARATION BY MAYOR

#### **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

Declaration of the Mackenzie District Mayor.

# **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Mayor Graham Smith Seconded: Cr James Leslie

1. That the report be received.

**CARRIED** 

That Graham Smith who as a result of the elections held during the period commencing on Friday 16 September 2016 and ending on Saturday 8 October 2016, was duly elected to be MAYOR of the Mackenzie District, will be requested to make and sign a declaration as required by the provisions of Clause 14, Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002.

#### 8.2 DECLARATION BY COUNCILLORS

# **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

**Declaration by Mackenzie District Councillors** 

#### **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Mayor Graham Smith Seconded: Cr Anne Munro

1. That the report be received.

**CARRIED** 

Those persons who as a result of the elections held during the period commencing on Friday 16 September 2016 and ending on Saturday 8 October 2016, was duly elected Councillors of the Mackenzie District, will be requested to make and sign a declaration as required by the provisions of Clause 14, Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002.

Anne MUNRO Stuart BARWOOD Chris CLARKE James LESLIE Russell ARMSTRONG Paul HNNAGAN

The Mayor announced Cr James Leslie had been elected as Deputy Mayor.

#### 8.3 DECLARATION BY COMMUNITY BOARD MEMBERS

#### **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

Declaration by Tekapo Community Board members, Fairlie Community Board members and Twizel Community Board members.

#### **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Cr James Leslie

Seconded: Cr Russell Armstrong

1. That the report be received.

**CARRIED** 

Those persons who as a result of the elections held during the period commencing on Friday 16 September 2016 and ending on Saturday 8 October 2016, was duly elected As Community Board members of the Mackenzie District, will be requested to make and sign a declaration as required by the provisions of Clause 14, Schedule 7 of the Local Government Act 2002.

Tekapo Community Board: HOWES Steve MARTIN Lyn SIMCOX Caroll

Fairlie Community Board: BLACKLOCK Les COAKLEY Carolyn JACKSON Pauline SMITH Damon

Twizel Community Board: PAARDEKOOPER Luke SHUKER Pat

#### 8.4 GENERAL EXPLANATION BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

# **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

To provide a general explanation of some of the laws that regulate the conduct of elected members.

#### **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Cr James Leslie Seconded: Cr Paul Hannagan

1. That the report be received and noted.

**CARRIED** 

Mr Barnett spoke to his report. He invited questions and noted if the Mayor, Councillors or Community Board members had any concerns or questions regarding the laws that regulate the conduct of elected members to please contact him.

#### 8.5 COMMUNITY BOARD APPOINTMENTS

#### **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

To make Councillor Representative appointments to the Fairlie Community Board, Tekapo Community Board and Twizel Community Board.

#### **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Cr James Leslie Seconded: Cr Chris Clarke

1. That the report be received.

**CARRIED** 

2. That pursuant to Section 19F of the Local Electoral Act 2001, the following appointments are made to the Community Boards:

#### **RESOLTUION**

Moved: Mayor Graham Smith Seconded: Cr Russell Armstrong

That Cr Chris Clarke be appointed as a member of the Fairlie Community Board.

**CARRIED** 

#### **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Mayor Graham Smith

Seconded: Cr James Leslie

That Cr Russell Armstrong be appointed as a member of the Tekapo Community Board.

**CARRIED** 

# **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Mayor Graham Smith

Seconded: Cr Anne Munro

That Paul Hannagan be appointed as a member of the Twizel Community Board.

**CARRIED** 

#### 8.6 ADOPT SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS 2016

# **PURPOSE OF REPORT**

For the new Council to adopt a schedule of meetings for the remainder of 2016.

#### **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Mayor Graham SmithSeconded: Cr Russell Armstrong1. That the report be received.

**CARRIED** 

# **RESOLUTION**

Moved: Cr Anne Munro

Seconded: Cr Russell Armstrong

That Council adopt the outlined schedule of meetings for the remainder of 2016 with the addition of a Council meeting on 13 December 2016 at 9:30am to be held in Fairlie.

CARRIED

The Meeting closed at 6:30pm.

The minutes	of	this	meeting	were	confirmed	at	the	Ordinary	Council	Meeting	held	on	31
October 2016	<b>.</b>												

•••••	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	•••••	•••••

**MAYOR**