MACKENZIE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES OF THE FIRST MEETING OF THE TEKAPO COMMUNITY BOARD FOLLOWING THE TRIENNIAL ELECTIONS, HELD IN THE COUNCIL CHAMBERS, FAIRLIE, ON 21 OCTOBER 2010AT 7.46 PM

PRESENT:

Murray Cox Alan Hayman Peter Maxwell Peter Munro Ian Radford

IN ATTENDANCE:

Claire Barlow (Mayor) Glen Innes (Chief Executive Officer) Rosemary Moran (Committee Clerk) Councillors Bishop, Money, Page, Smith and Williams Fairlie and Twizel Community Board Members Staff Members and Guests

II WELCOME BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER:

The Chief Executive Officer welcomed the newly elected members of the Tekapo Community Board and congratulated them on their success in the recent election.

III MAKING OF DECLARATIONS BY COMMUNITY BOARD MEMBERS:

Murray Cox, Ian Radford, Alan Hayman, Peter Munro and Cr Peter Maxwell made and attested their declarations to faithfully and impartially, and according to the best of their skill and judgement, execute and perform in the best interest of the Lake Tekapo Community, the powers, authorities and duties vested in or imposed upon them as members of the Tekapo Community Board by virtue of the Local Government Act 2002, the Local Government Official Information and Meetings Act 1987 or any other Act. Their Declarations were witnessed by the Mayor.

IV METHOD OF VOTING ON CERTAIN APPOINTMENTS:

This report from the Chief Executive Officer set out two alternative systems of voting for certain appointments, noting that the system must be determined before an election or appointment process began.

Resolved:

- 1. That the report be received.
- 2. That the Tekapo Community Board supports the election of its Chairman, Deputy Chairman and the appointment of Community Board members to outside agencies being made using the first past the post system..

Peter Maxwell/Peter Munro

V <u>ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN:</u>

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Chairman.

Motion:

That Murray Cox be nominated as Chairman of the Tekapo Community Board. Ian Radford/Peter Munro

There were no further nominations. The motion was put and carried and the Chief Executive Officer declared Murray Cox to be the Chairman of the Tekapo Community Board.

VI <u>GENERAL EXPLANATION BY THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER OF</u> <u>THE LOCAL GOVERNMENT OFFICIAL INFORMATION AND MEETINGS</u> <u>ACT 1987 AND OTHER LAWS AFFECTING ELECTED MEMBERS:</u>

The Chief Executive Officer referred to his report which set out the statutory responsibility of members. He provided a general explanation of some of the laws which regulated the conduct of elected members.

<u>Resolved</u> that the report be received.

Peter Maxwell/Murray Cox

VII <u>CONFIRMATION OF DATE AND TIME OF THE FIRST ORDINARY</u> <u>MEETING:</u>

<u>Resolved</u> that the first meeting of the Tekapo Community Board be held on Monday 22 November 2010 at 7.30 pm.

Murray Cox/Ian Radford

VIII <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY CHAIR:</u>

The Chief Executive Officer called for nominations for the position of Deputy Chairman.

Motion:

That Ian Radford be nominated as the Deputy Chairman of the Tekapo Community Board.

Alan Hayman/Murray Cox

There were no further nominations. The motion was put and carried and the Chief Executive Officer declared Ian Radford to be the Deputy Chairman of the Tekapo Board.

THERE BEING NO FURTHER BUSINESS THE CHAIRMAN DECLARED THE MEETING CLOSED AT 7.55 PM

CHAIRMAN:

DATE: