Tekapo Region banner image


Local Body Elections for the Mackenzie District.

2022 Tekapo Community Board By-election

Tekapo Community Board - By-election

The final result for the Mackenzie District Council Tekapo Community Board By-election, has been announced - 22 December 2022.

A by-election is required to fill an extraordinary vacancy on the Tekapo Community Board.

Tekapo Community Board Byelection (One Vacancy)

Stephanie Hagen,  nominated by Steven Jack Howes and Caroll Anne Mary Simcox.

Nominations for the above position open on Thursday 24 November 2022 and must be made on the official nomination form.

Physical copies of the nomination form and a by-election information sheet can be requested from the Mackenzie District Council office, 53 Main Street, Fairlie or from the electoral officer (see contact details below).

Completed nomination documents must be received by the electoral officer no later than noon on Thursday 22 December 2022. Each nomination must be accompanied by a deposit of $200 incl GST, payable by EFTPOS, cash or online banking (see nomination form for bank a/c details).

Candidates are encouraged to also submit a candidate profile statement and recent colour photograph. The requirements for the profile statement and photo are set out in the information sheet which is available with the nomination form. All nomination documents must be lodged together. Candidates should refer to the information sheet and candidate guide for further details.

A preliminary roll for the by-election can be inspected during normal office hours at the Mackenzie District Council office, 53 Main Street, Fairlie from Thursday 24 November 2022 to Thursday 22 December 2022.

Residential electors may enrol or amend their enrolment details on the electoral roll:

  • Online at www.vote.nz
  • By texting your name and address to 3676 to get a form sent to you
  • By calling 0800 36 76 56 to ask for a form to be sent to you
  • By email request to enquiries@elections.govt.nz

Applications for registration as a ratepayer elector are to be made on the non-resident ratepayer elector enrolment form available wherever copies of the electoral rolls are displayed and must be returned to the Mackenzie District Council electoral officer before 4pm Thursday 22 December 2022. Online applications for ratepayer elector registration can also be made through the non-resident ratepayer portal: www.electionz.com/ratepayer

Updates to the preliminary electoral roll close at 4pm on Thursday 22 December 2022.

If a voting process is required to fill this vacancy, it will be conducted by postal voting using the First Past the Post (FPP) electoral system. Candidate names will be listed in random order on the voting papers. The voting papers will be mailed out to electors on Thursday 26 January 2023 and voting will close at midday on Friday 17 February 2023.

If you are enrolled as a parliamentary elector you will automatically be placed on council’s electoral roll as a residential elector. If you need to enrol or update existing name or address details on the parliamentary electoral roll, you can do so online at vote.nz or by phoning 0800 36 76 56.

Arlene Goss
Deputy Electoral Officer
Mackenzie District Council
Ph 03 685 9010 or email deo@mackenzie.govt.nz

Anthony Morton
Electoral Officer
Ph 0800 666 048 or email iro@electionz.com

Electionz Logo

Final Outcome